Prophets Principles and National Survival

Compiled by Jerreld L. Newquist, originally published in 1964.

This book was recommended by Ezra Taft Benson in October 1964, April 1965 and April 1972 LDS General Conference.

Prophets, Principles and National Survival is a hard-hitting book that is destined to become one of the most crucial volumes of our time. It contains answers by the prophets of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to many of the questions and problems facing the nation today.

The book is well footnoted throughout by knowledgeable and distinguished civic and national leaders who corroborate the words of the prophets.

Some of the timely subjects discussed in the book are: Morality — Spirituality — Religion; Church and State; Free Enterprise and Capitalism; The American Republic; Communism — An International Criminal Conspiracy: The Welfare State — Creeping Socialism; American Foreign Policy; War and Peace; Capital Punishment; Birth Control; and many others.

Prophets, Principles and National Survival will stimulate and enlighten the reader as few books can. It represents the first time that the statements of the Church leaders have been compiled on subjects that are vital to the spiritual and temporal welfare of all loyal Americans.

“We have lost the conflict so far waged. But there is time to win the final victory, if we sense our danger, and fight.” (J. REUBEN CLARK, JR., from an address entitled “America Faces Freedom-Slavery Issue”)

Prophets, Principles and National Survival is out of print. You can find copies available at

Also, the digital version of the book is available here and here.

Print this Article

By , On .

2 Responses to “Prophets Principles and National Survival”

  1. Robert D Gorgoglione Says:

    CHECK for the newly published edition of “Prophets, Principles and National Survival” and others.

    Thought you would want to know.

    Robert D. Gorgoglione Sr
    In the tradition of Thomas Jefferson & Patrick Henry

  2. Samuel Sherwood Says:

    This is a great book. Every LDS member should have it. I heard Pres. Benson recommend this book to every priesthood member in person. He said it was one of the critical books every priesthood holder should read as part of his eternal salvation regarding the doctrine of freedom and agency.

Leave a Comment